Stargardt’s Disease and iPads – ZOOM ZOOM ZOOM

10 Jul

20120710-030642.jpg

20120710-025304.jpg

I was lucky enough to recieve one of these from santa last year..and my god its changed my life!!

I’ve tried zoom text before but It didn’t suit me and completely slowed down my laptop but the iPad is brill. If you can save up a little and get one you can access everything

Hold it close to your face in comfort not hurting your back and neck at a computer desk etc..Even use the camera as a zoom to read things etc. The iPad is literally the key to my life with my disability and accessing websites,emails, pictures etc… It has brought back normality to technology for me.

Go to settings (the pic of the dog yoko, bottom right the black square). Then the options are endless… The zoom is fantastic… So good. I am managing without the voice at the moment and learned a few quick tips I will list below…

Tips for zoom on the iPad.

  • To zoom tap with three fingers twice to make the zoom bigger or smaller
  • Do the above but on the second tap don’t take your fingers of the iPad.. Slide them all up the iPad for more zoom or down for less zoom. It doesn’t take long to get used to

My back and neck used to hurt so much leaning into the computer… And barely being able to see it… Its portable, zoom on the pictures and texts, email…

I can’t use my phone anymore as the fonts too small so I use face time to call my friends on the iPad and a app called “Touch” which is Instant messaging (it can be a little slow to notify the message but if you click on the conversation it will push the notification up eventually)

20120710-110039.jpg

It’s fine to zoom… Sod it if you can’t see it you can’t see it!!! Go for it and zoom don’t worrys about what people may think! Once the initial ” why’s that so big” it’s fine,, it’s just you.. This is how my Facebook looks! It takes a little longer than a well sighted human but honestly really easy once you know how to do it!!!

20120710-110212.jpg

5 Responses to “Stargardt’s Disease and iPads – ZOOM ZOOM ZOOM”

  1. carla March 26, 2013 at 6:06 am #

    My son has this and been told theres no cure. Im thinking of doing something for charity to raise awareness and finding a cure also my daughter is getting tested for the same thing as her eye sight is getting worse any suggestions plz x

    • kayleyrose March 26, 2013 at 9:35 am #

      Hey! Where abouts ate you from? If your in England we should pull together and I could sing at your event http://www.kayleyrose.co.uk ….. Hope you and your family are wellXxx

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Easy when you know how!!! Internet shopping! « Living with and Supporting Stargardt's disease - July 12, 2012

    […] (I have blogged about how to Zoom on your iPad here) […]

  2. Painted Yoko today!!! « Living with and Supporting Stargardt's disease - July 16, 2012

    […] to paint and my dog Yoko was asleep… I just had the urge to paint her. I took a picture on my iPad and for each section I then zoomed in on the picture so much so I could see fine […]

  3. Chick chick chick chick chicken! « Living with and Supporting Stargardt's disease - July 17, 2012

    […] yesterday I used my iPad and the Zoom feature.  I took a photo of what I wanted to paint and then zoomed in on the photo of the chicken as […]

Leave a Reply

